Post Race Blues

19 01 2008

I’ve never really paid a lot of attention to the Post Race Blues because I’ve kept myself busy doing whatever and whatnot.  This go around, I had a great time in Disney and coming home was a bit more eventful than I’d wished for.

I had to be at work on Tuesday at 8 a.m. after my Chiro appointment.  I was really moving just fine.  That night was a Team Captain/Mentor meeting for next season.  I go up and volunteer a fair amount, so I was planning that time too.

The strange thing was how everyone around me seemed to be moving stressfully fast.  It was as if everything that they were doing had to be done yesterday and they’re constantly playing catch up.  People were nice etc, but everyone just so … stressed.

I got to work, got everything I needed to done within a few hours.  I’d caught up from the time I’d missed last week and had started on C priority projects.  The majority of the messes I worked on were based on people not getting things done right the first time.  So what if it’s not your job? Aren’t we working together for something.

I guess I just don’t understand anymore.  I could run with the big dogs and take a few of them down, but I just don’t see the reason to expend the energy.  I was asked why I’m even bothering with the masters for teaching pop culture etc when I love my walking so much and the charity work.  Kind of a good question, but I do know I’ve got too much drive to work for most of the charities I’ve dealt with …

I wouldn’t mind finding a way to get in on the ground floor of one for the health of kids, but there are so many of them out there.  Just coming from the fundraising aspect, it’s a nightmare.

I can’t expect anyone to understand why I do the things I do.  I love my walking and I love putting it to use for a charity I can believe in.  Makes my competitive nature more fun.  A friend of mine suggested that those whom cause me trouble with my walking are the ones who procrastinate on their good works section of life. 

I’m not wealthy financially, but I’m growing in wealth in self confidence and that I can share with others. 

upshot: My house is a disaster.  I’ve been floating around in a fog. Fortuantely, Dave wrote to remind me that I’d schedulled a 5 miler for tomorrow.  I’d not signed up for it so I’ll cost me $35.  I’m hoping it will clear out some of the fog.

Actions

Information

One response

20 01 2008
Steve

I think we all experience the post race blues from time to time. We put so much of ourselve’s into preparing for these marathons, that when they’re over with, we’re kinda left hanging.

I think it’s great that you raise money doing what you like to do. I hope you’ll keep it up.
Congrats again your speedy finish!

Leave a Reply

