Not exactly fun … but Ok.

27 03 2009

I was a gym-rat before it was “popular” or “acceptable” for women to be in there. There was this Golden Gate Transit bus driver, danged if I can’t remember his name, who would pick me up when I was leaving the ice arena and get me either to Marin City for the transfer or wherever. We used to talk a lot and he didn’t think my comfort in a gym to be odd … but then again, he was a body builder himself through the 1970’s and early 1980’s.

I didn’t think I was going to make it down because of the snow and ice. Nearly didn’t. But – I got there and after warming up upstairs wandering the track, a twinge in my calf and knee served to remind me that I should notbe pushing my legs with several days in a row in the weight room. Ok – fine. Upper body only … Out of habit, I gravitated toward the leg press free-weight machine. I was about 1/2 way across the floor when the top of my calf twinged.

Ok. Got the message.

By the time I got back upstairs, the track was inundated with Senior Citizens. Now, many of my friends and mentors are Senior Citizens, but these were the slow moving plodding variety. I tried to start my 40 minute easy work out … but there wasn’t really any rhyme or reason to their spacing and spreading out across the track. The last thing I need is to truck along at my newly discovered “easy” pace and have to swerve around. That just wouldn’t be good. It was only brought to my attention as a runner got stuck in this boat.

Ok – bail and treadmill. At least it’s not as bad as the treadmill at my apartment!

Random hills, setting 2 … nothing really, but whatever. I don’t have an iPod, so I was settling in staring off the balcony at the empty basketball court or over to the televisions (ESPN – no sound closed captioned … Soap Opera – sadly with sound … CNN – no sound closed captioned). Every so often, my dainty size 11 would hit the plastic hood where the walking surface rolls under.

“Why don’t you speed it up so you don’t kick it anymore?” When I got on the treadmill, the one to my right was empty. It was now occupied by the runner. It appeared that he’d pretty much had it trying to make time on the track.

“Nope. Trying to behave myself. I’ve got a leg to rehab and I’ve already been stupid enough.” I laughed as I made it a point to be roughly in the center of the conveyor.

2.95 miles and 40 minutes later, I hopped off. I’d had to stop a couple of times to stretch. The runner finished about 5 minutes after me and next thing I knew he was out on the track walking his cool-down.

I was feeling that twinge, but I know it’s going to take time to pull it all together. Actually, I see the positive in this that it’s healing and I’m learning to back off myself. Pool would have been nice, but I needed to get home.

I backed in to my parking spot and when I tried to pull forward to straighten out, I was back on top of a sheet of ice. The snow had been melting all day and water draining under the covered parking where it’s already frozen.

Sigh. Stretch some more and try it again tomorrow.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

