Proving I can have fun going around in 33 circles without dying of boredom …

28 03 2009

or hurting myself! 🙂

I’m not going to lie – I’ve fully decided that crowns on one’s teeth are not for the feint of heart! Due to the fact my Mum has had more than her fair share … I’ve got insane respect! I had to have them reset … even though I’ve been behaving myself!

I’ve been behaving myself all over … no wonder Bailey is looking around for the Invasion of the Body Snatchers pods … (there is a Tiburon reference in both movies, but I digress).

Still snowy here and I’m still creating a new habit: the habit of not beating myself up, but taking the time to pay attention and enjoy my work outs again. I’m in this for the long haul.

Got a particularly annoying e-mail; the gist of which said “Well, isn’t it time for you to grow up and realize you’re broken for good.” Um … well … that was a great way to open e-mails. It’s Negative Neds and Nellies that I’ve got no interest in having anywhere near me.

Nice drive to the Rec Center. Denver is a sloppy mess right now. Bailey was torqued that walks aren’t including her at this point. We are getting out but it’s for leisure walks until the ground firms up a bit and I’m more stable. Until then, I kind of like being at the indoor track simply because if something *does* go horribly wrong, there are people around. I’ll be hopping out of this security blanket area fairly soon, but until then …

Warming up around the track was OK. I got down there later than I’d anticipated, so I was ready to use the treadmill for 4-5 easy miles … or from 65 to 75 minutes … yup – audio book … but some gremlin drained the batteries of my cd player … and I thank that gremlin!

I took a couple of laps to figure out what was going on in the 20 minutes I’d gone about trying to scrounge batteries from my car. A couple of roof leaks and about 10 people. Kids were playing in a volleyball tournament in the basketball/volleyball area and the pool was fairly dead. Ok … I’d grabbed a bottle of propel from the car and poured about 1/3 into my water bottle and filled the Propel bottle up with water for electrolyte cocktails.

I’m under ordersto stop racewalking and walk-walk whenever I need to. I know my head is changing because instead of seeing this as a cop-out, I see it as a directive … permission of sorts … and that puts the nay-saying to rest … or at least on the other side of the fence!

The indoor track is 6.5 laps to a mile. I got just over 2 miles in and my calf and knee were starting to twinge. I could just give in and stop saying “Owie!!” but I would probably get irritated with myself later. Instead, I kept listening to the piped in music – the tune was “Night Fever” – and crossed the lap mark, grabbed the water bottle and walked to the music feeling how things went. This will be my procedure until there are no longer “walk” breaks because my legs are happy, healthy and whole. I can’t say I’m doing the Galloway system … just the “Lizzy-Gets-Healthy-And-Out-Of-Her-Own-Way-With-“Permission” system.

It gets really hot in that glassed in indoor track and once I get going, I run really warm … once I get going. I made it a point to keep hydrated … and no I didn’t drop my water bottle onto the kids playing volleyball … however I did “lose” it. It appeared that these two maybe high school aged boys were walking around not paying attention. I actually had to turn them around to walk the right direction because there were quite a few runners by this time. They stopped to stare at the kids playing volleyball right about where my water bottle was and I could only hope that they would be off the track by the time I got back around only because I can use my old hip-check eyeballing on people in front of me, but people wandering around were variables. I got around and I didn’t hear the boys, but reached for my water bottle and it was missing. CRAP! It’s one of the few that I can get water past my sore teeth.

Luck had it, however, that I still had that electrolyte cocktail. My leg was starting to feel a smidge unstable, so I knew I was within a handful of laps before slowing down again. Oingo Boingo’s Dead Man’s Party … what a fun song … after that it was a few laps of walking, dripping sweat and downing my cocktail.

I was pretty happy … pain level stayed fairly static, I used my option to walk-walk and keep moving, and I did something around 5 miles in 68 reasonable-pain minutes.

I dripped off the track and down to the weight room. There were the boys … and one had my relatively distinctive bottle. I walked right up and realized I came up to their shoulders … HOWEVER, I like those water bottles. The bloke said something lame about his thinking it was just left there by someone. I glared, smiled and said it was left there by someone … me … and I’d appreciate having it back.

Yes – bottle is soaking in the sink … and I’m going to be watching movies with friends.

Pain still below a level 5 … and I’m happy with that. The fact I had fun going around in 33 circles … I’m even happier with that! 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

