Is it wrong to Happy Dance when you don’t get in the drawing?? Nike.

29 03 2009

Hey Gang —

I jumped the gun … I signed up for the drawing for the Nike Women’s Marathon partly because I wanted to walk another event that my bud Heather (yeah – the same one who got me to get off my tush and exercise … she just thought I’d start running not walking). As is well known, the San Francisco Bay Area is always going to be my home turf … born there, raised in Tiburon … when Tiburon still had railroad tracks … and broke in my Nike Waffles when they built the bike pat with associated gravel/clay “running path” in … 1977 (?). Mom is learning her way around races … and looks terrific as usual as she does. So – I put in for the race.

On the 19th of March, I got a note from Heather to check my account to see if I’d had the $120 pulled for the race. There appeared to be a $120 hold or pull or whatever and I thought I was in. However, as the fates will have it, it appears that the charge isn’t on the account and I’m declined for the race.

You know — I’m just fine with that.

Of course, DMcG is probably breathing slightly easier as are a few friends concerned with the fact my October would look like: San Jose Rock and Roll 1/2 –> Nike Full Marathon the next week … then skip a week and hit the Gorilla Run (I think he’s finally just realized this is forever on my schedule) and the Two Cities 1/2 Marathon the week after that …. of course, I’m signed up for the Goofy also.

I’m breathing easier also. I was able to register for the Bolder Boulder, Gorilla Run AND the Two Cities 1/2 Marathon for the price of just the Nike Women’s Marathon.

So … maybe the Racewalk Gods are smiling on me … giving me a little breathing room to heal this leg up properly.

Next race … in a little while! It’s the Bolder Boulder … and I intend on slamming it.

๐Ÿ™‚

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2009
Maryann

You have a really full racing schedule! I’m pulling for you to get healed up so you can get back to racing!

29 03 2009
teamshep

Thanks, Maryann! I’m looking forward to it also … and doing it right for a change! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

