Something *not* to read on the extended dance treadder mix

4 04 2009

Ok – so it’s now taken me 20 minutes to get back into my blog. Blown completely away that I can’t remember the password, but my brain is clouded with some icky visuals from the audio book which accompanied me for the first part of my treadder-from-hell workout.

Ok – Denver was supposed to be under snow. It’s not … it’s been spitting here in the Denver Tech Center and really windy. What has been interesting has been the amount of ice. Water has been flooding down the small hill of the parking area and has turned to ice around my and another person’s car tires. I dumped down a couple of layers of ice melt, but it didn’t really bode well … so instead of at least going down to the Englewood Rec Center for an afternoon of waddling around and around the indoor track and cooling off my leg in the pool … turned into 7 miles on an aging treadmill here at the apartment complex.

I popped the pup on random hills with low-ish grade and something  like 12.5 minute miles. Maybe I went a bit ambitious because I’m coming off of two really nice work-outs which have made me feel like I’m coming along. This treadder is so ancient there is no place for a water bottle or CD player — yes I did say CD player. Dragged a chair over and kind of plopped the portable player on the edge … off and waddling.

I would *not* recommend listening to disc 2 of Skinny Bitchwhile on a treadmill under really any circumstances. Now, if you can’t handle curse words every few sentences, I don’t recommend the book at all … nor if you have a complete love affair with meat. The book heavily pushes the move to vegetarianism or, preferably, vegan-ism. There is some really interesting information, however. The topic for quite literally the entire 7 miles was just what animals go through during the factory slaughter process … mile after mile after mile … I grabbed my Gatorade cocktail and was my a-typical indoor sweaty mess listening to what I remember seeing some of when I would drive past the poultry processing plant in Santa Rosa on my way out to Forestville. I got a two mile reprieve when one of my neighbors came in to put money on her laundry card. I was proving that this pace at whatever the hills were doing was “conversational” … 🙂

So – there I was getting somewhat nautious on the descriptions of the book (oh please, get over “well, Lizzy, just stop listening” … I’ve been trying to get through this book for over a year and it’s the only audio book I have in the house right now) … and feeling my calf move from it’s starting level of 3 pain and move along up to my “drop dead” point of level 5.5. It took a little time to get there, which was fantastic. I’ve raced with it in 9 … but it was far from pretty. 7.5 was right before I stopped at Huntington Beach.

When it got to 5, I popped off … stretched again … went to “manual 1% grade” and after a mile I was closing in on 5.5 pain level. Nope. I’m NOT going to undo all the work I’m doing … Time to stop and try again either later this evening or just do tomorrow’s work out.

I’m bummed to an extent, but, as I’ve said before, I’m learning how to stop and then regroup without beating myself about the head and shoulders. I’ve got to finish homework anyway!

Hugs and Love – Lizzy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

