The re-eval … and meeting a new “Nephew”

2 08 2009

What really was good this weekend was the re-eval … what was really bad, to me, was as this happens, I get really high energy and it drives me nuts!

I think a lot of things just started to find their place in my head … which might see some changes with me being where I want to be … and people who think they know me realizing just how little they know.

One of the most interesting things for me was meeting Cavan McG. He’s Dave and Loretta’s just a smidge over 8 month old son. I’m not a baby person … I’m not one for “ooohhhh let me hold him” stuff … I find babies a little perplexing and poor Cavan was dragged 1/2 way across the country to very hot Denver … but he did great as did his Mum and Dad. I’ve known about Mr. Cavan since before there was a he/she clue, so he kind of falls into the Nephew category. I really do love Dave and Loretta so it’s all good. The timing on meeting this bundle of McG was interesting as Jeff passed away expectantly on Wednesday and I was kind of reeling.

The reeling had a lot to do with the full realization that Jeff was really more healthy than I and slammed 2x with serious heart issues. I was thinking about a lot of things and Lisa mentioned the amount of stress I’ve been under being the root of a lot of it.

We were standing outside the Runner’s Roost on Colorado Blvd after getting folks in there to get new kicks and Dave was holding Cavan. I just looked rather quizzically at him because he really seemed to be one of those babies that has a good vibe about them. I’m not saying that because he’s a new “Nephew” but because he got me curious. His folks are trying to figure things out and doing a really good job. I’m also glad that they’re not the type of parents to foist their bundle on everyone. It’s easier to take a reading when you’re not getting drooled upon or the poor kiddo is confused!

Here’s a little guy who is coming into this crazed world with a pair of parents who will definately to absolutely everything the can to do the right things and will make mistakes, but for the right reasons. An older guy left this world who was a really good friend that I never got a chance to meet.

The timing is strange, and I’m not describing it well — but it got me thinking about how simple things should be and how complex people make them by just wanting them to be complex. They don’t have to be.  My conversations with Loretta were really helpful and I’m very thankful for a friend like her.

So – my re-eval has a lot to do with this … I feel like I’ve been away for a week and able to think. I’ve got a lot to do with my feet and checking out these kicks. I’m getting a brain wave on the scheduling.

Changes are good … I believe! 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

