OH MY FREAKING GOSH!!!!

7 05 2010

(Journal 4)
 
As I got off the flight, my friend the Flight Attendant said “Good Luck and you’ll get your guys across the line! There’s a Dunkin’ Donut’s right as you’re leaving the airport!” She rocks!
 
I can’t believe I’m freaking here for this race.  Looking around, seeing folks in their race jackets from last year.  Some are kind of haughty but I might be too if I had qualified.  What are the qualifying times?  As of right now, I don’t think I would even qualify as an 80-year-old!  I don’t want to do more fundraisers than I absolutely have to.  They are pretty hard on me.
 
Forget all this – I AM IN BOSTON/LOGAN AIRPORT!  I can wear my Red Sox jacket I’ve had for 25 years with my

Varsity Letter (with the track shoe) on it without any problems.  Ok, I might have some because my cousin Valerie is a massive Yankee’s fan, but the Red Stockings team cheering is for my grandfather Robinson Shepard and there is no denying that.

 
This doesn’t feel like a “normal” race for me.  I didn’t get any of the “pre-race” stuff to check in with or anything.  Mike is handling everything.  I’ve also not really trained.  I’ll be moving slower and the pressure I put on myself during the race will be, uh, different.  I have the responsibility for my extremely independent guys.  I can be a bossy bitch when I want to be, but I am truly protective.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t have people being protective in a good way for me through my various injuries and illnesses.  I hadn’t learned to trust in a way which would be accepted by most.  In order to be trusted, you have to trust.  Mike has been an amazing big brother and Steve just rocks.  You can take all those guys who can run/walk insanely fast if they’ve got attitudes.  Race directors might like the faster folks, but there are folks like us who are the heart of races because we keep plugging along.  I know both guys are behind me whenever the third part of Team Wheezy is out there truly racing for herself. 
I don’t remember if I brought an inhaler! Can you believe it?! I had a slight anxiety attack on the plane, but it is just nerves I’m sure.  I’ll go thrashing through my bags when I get to the hotel.
 
Yes, bags, plural.  I brought my snack bag and a clothing bag.  Mike is just going to have to handle that I travel with my own coffee pot and snacks.  Not sure how much I’ll go through, but I can’t afford any spendy trips. I’m hoping dinners with the cousins aren’t too expensive because I’m sunk if they are!
 
We’ve got two team dinners and I’ve got enough snacks for everything else.  I should be fine.  I’m writing this while enjoying my large Dunkin’ Donuts coffee and Boston Cream Donut.  I’ve got the print-out Steve sent of how to get to the hotel.  I have no clue what to expect, but there is no going back now.
 
 
BOSTON MARATHON QUALIFYING TIMES*
AGE GROUP MEN WOMEN
 
18-34 3hrs 10min 3hrs 40min
35-39 3hrs 15min 3hrs 45min
40-44 3hrs 20min 3hrs 50min
45-49 3hrs 30min 4hrs 00min
50-54 3hrs 35min 4hrs 05min
55-59 3hrs 45min 4hrs 15min
60-64 4hrs 00min 4hrs 30min
65-69 4hrs 15min 4hrs 45min
70-74 4hrs 30min 5hrs 00min
75-79 4hrs 45min 5hrs 15min
80 and over 5hrs 00min 5hrs 30min
 
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

