Three Weeks and Counting

10 06 2011

My NZ Teammate and Buddy David W. Smyth reminded me of this today and I shuddered. I have not exited the slow and clunky stage which has been exacerbated by a muscle pull in my rear hip. My massage maven and wonder chiropractors have been working with it but I know it is going to take time to heal.

As I tell clients, it took a while to get into this shape, it takes time to get out. The difference is it took no effort to get in bad shape and will take loads to get out of it.

For me, I am frustrated, but I know that the clumsiness will smooth out eventually and speed will come back with extra vitality. It just takes time, dedication, and attention.

If patience is a virtue, I am more virtuous with others. I think this is the case with all of us. We have the luxury of being patient with others until we can’t be any longer,  but we cart ourselves around everywhere we go.

In a world where we really don’t stop and think, much less acknowledge things, this process is a first stop – but if we get stuck there, it is just a game of mental masturbation. Until we do massive change, we will do the little things that make us feel good but truly isn’t satisfying in the long run.

As I sit with my coffee waiting for Maggie to start in on my back, I am thinking about 3 weeks from now in Sacramento. I have my three well seasoned teammates/housemates (Nyle Sunderland, Tammy Wright Stevenson, & David Smith) who have already promised they are going to be there even if I am the last person across the line – after 90 year old Gramma’s. Even if I get disqualified or can’t finish, they are there. It is trying something new and then growing from it.

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 06 2011
blueollie

Don’t I know it…I am recovering from last year’s knee surgery and what I found is that while my knee is more or less healed, I still have to regain fitness from my lay off PRIOR to surgery (November through July) but the limited training AFTER the surgery.

So we have to let the injuries heal up AND rebuild our lost fitness…and that can be discouraging. 🙂

But this last weekend I may have gotten blown off of the course. But I still walked 54 miles which is better than zero miles. 🙂

So hang in there; while my health problems/challenges are not as tough as yours, I can understand the frustration.

10 06 2011
WalkingTom

Faster than I used to be; Slower than I want to be; Still Trying

10 06 2011
Nyle Sunderland

We will be there cheering you on every step of the way. The fact that you have entered makes you a winner in my eyes. Your housemates will be behind you all the way and will also be helping you celebrate that night too!!!

Each of us have had hurdles to jump in the last few months but the fact that none of us have thrown our hands in the air is a credit to us all.

3 weeks will zip by … and I so cant wait to met you.

10 06 2011
teamshep

Thanks Nyle. I don’t want to rush time!! 😉

Leave a Reply

