Thoughts after sitting an hour in traffic

23 06 2011

image

Popped Susan Randall out to Denver International (and way out in the middle of a blasted field) Airport and camped out in traffic watching my oil temp marker peg at HOT. Wow – people do this daily?? No wonder there are so many accidents! I nearly got creamed twice!

I needed to look over my project for Weights. I didn’t like the skeletons Coach Tetro wanted us to color in, but you can’t have everything. I think I got general placement. I should have it perfect after my Anatomy lecture test on Monday and Lab test on Wednesday.

It has been cool to go home and about an hour later follow Susan to wherever she is training. I never really trained with anyone, mostly because I am so much slower than everyone I know. The thing is that we were on the same course, but doing our own thing.

I don’t mind checking in with other folks, but feeling like I have to carry on a conversation or coax through a workout separates me from focusing on what I need to be doing.

One of the many lessons I learned this week and a half is to make my workout work for me, even if those with me are boatloads faster – or slower. My workout is primary. Friends will understand and people who are drains will feel insulted. Fine. I am not trying to be mean, but it is time for me to put me first and what is important to me first.

Friends are there to support one another,  not act in some BS passive aggressive jealous sort of way. I know I don’t have time for the emotional vampires anymore and don’t want to be one.

Sorry – I don’t have time for endless loop drama …. I have training to do.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 06 2011
malvs2walk

awesome post, Lis. It took me a while to realize that hangers on who expect us to lay out their training plan, tell them when to take a drink, oh, and do the training for them are not really our friends.

24 06 2011
teamshep

Well – if they are potential clients it is one thing but if they are looking for social time, I can hook up with them when I am done.

I am just starting to get my Mojo back and I know I, like many, can get easily derailed.

Social time is cool. Training time is cool. Both need to be respected.

Leave a Reply

