Back to writing and training — starting with a track club …. rewrite

7 03 2012

image

### Well – thank you to a wonderful reader for some errors. I type while on the train to campus on my Android and sometimes biff it!! Cheers — LS ###
Winter is nearly over in Denver. I have done a great deal of thinking and listened to the input of friends who are also professionals in my next industry of fitness. They know that I am bifurcated like many adult athletes — I want to double up my training but am smart enough to know better. Listening to that “Know better” side has been the rub. Of course, my studies at Metro State, Denver has been giving me the scientific underpinning to force myself to listen.

Many know that one of my grandfathers was a mathemagician and scientist and the other worked his way through industries seeing the future and ended up at the top of part of the entertainment industry. I would like to say I am being guided by the best of both of them.

The entertainment industry grandfather told me early on to investigate the organizations I want to join because by joining I am linking my name and reputation to them. He had friends blacklisted during the Red Scare but also learned that some didn’t know the negative tendrals of the organizations joined.

I have made mistakes, but can extradite myself after doing continued due diligence. In simple language “doing my homework.” I am particularly careful now that fitness is my new industry.

Audio was so much easier.

I have been looking for a place to be motivated and belong as I return to racewalking. I am reworking everything as I undo the bad habits from working around injury.

I have known of the Phidippides Track Club in Denver for a number of years. My friend and speedy sneaker Jay S. had mentioned the club to me after I came in from the Colfax Half Marathon when I was starting to ride high on my racewalking. I remember saying at the time that I wasn’t sure if I belonged. He said that the club had had racewalkers in it and that I was more than welcome. All I could see was a bunch of super fast racers knowing what they are doing and smiled saying “Someday, Jay. Someday!” He smiled and said “You are welcome anytime.”

Uh ok. Heard that before then felt completely demoralized and outclassed.

Flash forward nearly three years, enduring a debilitating injury load, and a little knocking of sense into my head later … Facebook. Is there really a place for me with the track club known fondly as “Phids”?

In the same week that coach Brian Cooper and Coach Jim Leppik reminded me (in two different time zones) that 5km is an endurance sport, 2-a-days are stupid, Coach Chris Tetro joined the chorus reminding me of my concern about needing direction, Jay put out the reminder that Phids was starting. I printed out the application.

I spoke with my crew. My biggest fear was that I am so slow right now that I would not be welcome. Their fifth group is about a 9 minute mile. My goal for this year is to get faster but dumping 5 minutes without running?

I know speedy sneakers that are in Phidippides – honestly supportive friends. I heard my grandfather and did my homework. Steve, who sets the track workouts, is a trainer of highly competitive athletes. And I trust Jay, Scott K, and Mike Q implicitly as they would prefer to see me happily chasing them in races …. and them cheering me in another hour later!

Jay wrote a lovely note of introduction to Steve. And after I met him, Steve reminded me not to be an idiot!! Big smiles from friends as they took off for their 2 mile time trial.

Yeah – this is a good place.

I watched the workout. Know that I have my lane and have a goal of being able to competitively join the regular workouts.

What I needed was to feel welcome and learn by both helping and doing. 

Really looking forward to my Tuesdays with Phidippides! Of course, I will be missing at least one a month to go to Broomfield to train with High Altitude Racewalk Team.

Will keep you posted!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

