Asked to start writing again

25 09 2012

image

Probably not one of my better photos, but backward shooting on a moving train.

I was asked to start writing again. I am not exactly sure why, but I guess it has something to do with my being fairly honest about my process with sport and evolution. To me, they are pretty linked.

This morning finds me still limping badly. Up to this point, I can honestly say I have missed every major training target due to those lingering issues that, if not handled, really put a railroad spike in my motivation.

I do see the positive, even in my crabby outlook. I am finally taking care of those injury issues that I have long ignored or tried to simply power through. The problem with the enduring thing is that I know I have far more potential and I haven’t been near reaching it again. The only way to reach any level, however, is building a firm foundation. In this case, it is chasing the recurring injuries and dealing with the causes once and for all.

Yeah – and that collides with the fact that I am an impatient person with myself.

I will admit that my becoming frustrated with the incredibly slow process and “oh yes, Miss Shepard, it is going to take 3 months minimum to burn/cut/heal the injuries to the bottom of both feet” really hit hard. I found myself camping out, stretching, in front of the telly, reaching for whatever was handy.

Around the Olympics my DVR and cable connections became wonky. I laughed at myself because I had started to have that attitude of “I can’t miss x or y telly program.” It is an attitude I truly don’t understand and here I was, sucked into it! Sure, my programs are usually well crafted mysteries or documentaries – but timewaster is waist-enhancer.

I took the DVR back to Comcast and picked up their regular box. I then noticed just how much I was paying for the thing. As I started to renegotiate the bill for the only service I truly *need* (cable internet), I found it was more expensive if I dumped the telly & phone (yeah – phone … not real landline either)!

I didn’t hook the box up for a couple of weeks. Didn’t miss much, I am sure. Happy to miss the political mudslinging. I relaxed, got on the balcony, and slowly took walks to try to rehab the feet.

The idiot box is back up. I catch the BBC news and use it for music. If I miss a program, who cares? The big thing I noticed was after all these years of explaining and linking media and society, I don’t understand the appeal of the offerings. That is probably a good thing. I can still tag demographics within 5 minutes — odd but useful talent.

As I limp onto campus, I hear people bemoaning some football call, parroting political soundbytes, and being plugged in to their screaming headphones; completely ignoring the beautiful morning.

Sigh.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

