Having to take charge of my Asthma

25 06 2010

Well, when you ignore things they will come back to bite you in the rear end. I’m so protective of my lung challenged friends, and have kind of acknowledged that I have asthma. I probably have not really given it the respect that asthma demands. I have started carrying the rescue inhaler to races. I now take a hit before trainings. I am frustrated, but I know that I am not interested in letting what has been described as “exercise induced” asthma get me.

It has been hot here in Denver. I’ve been under a bit of stress taking care of other messes in my life. Plants have been going crazy. I haven’t been able to train well because I have felt out of sorts. I made an appointment with my regular doctor for a physical. Yesterday, asthma decided to rear it’s ugly head in a  really scary way.

I’m not going to go into what happened, but I will say that I’ve got amazing friends and I am having everything checked out. Asthma gets downplayed in a lot of ways. There are those who hide behind it so they don’t have to try doing things. There are others who don’t let it get in their way. I am interested in being in the second group, but not by being stupid.

The hardest thing about asthma is taking it seriously. For the most part, it doesn’t look like there’s anything wrong. After another bad brush with it yesterday. Ok, you’ve got my attention Asthma. Now you’re going to get under control!


Actions

Information

One response

25 06 2010
Kerri

Well done on the decision, Lis :-). Asthma’s a pain in the butt, but I trust YOU of all people will put it in it’s place. (If your lungs know what’s best for them, they’ll listen, eh?)

Good luck, and feel better! I hope the scary stuff stops SOON <3.

Leave a comment